Networks

Mastery Through Knowledge

Where are our networks?


On the continent of Europe, an estimate of only 20-30% of drinkable water networks are correctly mapped. Only those produced recently have been geolocalized during their production. For the rest, the data is often approximate and relies on outdated maps or simply human memory.

This lack of precision can generate huge costs for water services, notably multiple excavations that take place before finding the right location of a pipeline needing replacement or repair, or even breaks in networks and construction delays, due to construction interventions or action taken on other underground networks. 

What condition are our networks in?

Renewal operations are dictated by town planning (population increases in a zone, new areas to serve), but also by the state of existing infrastructure.

In France, the cost to renew a single kilometer of piping is between 150 and 250,000 euros, not including subscriber networks. Therefore, management must have reliable information on hand in order to be able to efficiently plan these maintenance and renewal operations.

Precisely identifying which networks are at most immediate risk for deterioration allows for reducing extremely costly repair interventions, reduces the rate of lost water in networks, and curbs the cost of drinkable water to the public. 

Operators admit that a large part of renewal operations could be more relevant, provided that they have access to this vital information: what condition is the network in?

Réseaux

Connaître pour mieux maitriser

Ou sont nos réseaux ?


Sur le continent européen, on estime que seuls 20 à 30% des réseaux d’eau potable sont correctement cartographiés. Seules les réalisations récentes ont été géo-localisées lors de leur réalisation. Pour le reste, les données sont souvent approximatives et reposent sur des cartographie anciennes ou la simple mémoire humaine.

Ce manque de précision peut générer des coûts très importants pour les services de l’eau, notamment des excavations multiples avant de trouver le bon emplacement d’une canalisation à remplacer ou réparer ou encore des « casses » de réseaux et retards de travaux lors d’interventions de construction ou d’action sur les autres réseaux enterrés. 

Dans quel état sont nos réseaux ?

Les opérations de renouvellement sont dictées par des contraintes d’aménagement (augmentation des populations sur une zone, nouveaux territoires à desservir) mais aussi par l’état des infrastructures existantes.

En France, le coût du renouvellement d’un seul kilomètre de canalisation s’établit entre 150 et 250 000 euros, hors raccordements d’abonnés. Le gestionnaire doit donc disposer d’informations fiables afin de programmer efficacement ses opérations de maintenance et de renouvellement.

Identifier avec exactitude les réseaux les plus à risque de détérioration à cours terme permet à la fois de réduire les interventions extrêmement couteuses de réparation, de réduire le taux de perte d’eau des réseaux et enfin de juguler le coût de l’eau potable aux populations. 

Les exploitants admettent qu’une part importante des opérations de renouvellement pourraient être plus pertinentes à condition de disposer de l’information nécessaire : dans quel état est le réseau ?