Challenges

Water and its distribution

Water - a crucial, global issue

The global water deficit that’s coming is not a hypothesis, but a state of affairs. By 2030, it will be at 40%, and this deficit will not just affect areas that are historically water-poor, it will have an impact on the entire planet.
There are many causes: population concentration, global warming, agricultural and industrial increases in need for water. In this context, the deterioration of distribution infrastructures and subsequential water loss is becoming a critical issue.


Network obsolescence

Maintaining and renewing a drinkable water distribution network is expensive and complex. However, not doing it (or doing it half-way) has dangerous consequences : currently on a global level, distribution networks lose between 20 and 40% of the water they transport, and this yield is getting worse, as pipeline renewal frequency is insufficient. 

A lack of tools and information

In the defense of the operators who run these infrastructures, they are working with a severe lack of efficient management tools. One of the main causes of management difficulties is the lack of reliable information on localisation and equipment condition. The lack of data creates an increase in renewal and maintenance costs, leading to a downward spiral in infrastructure performance, forcing operators to react and invest more and more in stopping the network deterioration, rather than in proactive renewal.

Enjeux

L’eau et sa distribution

L’eau un enjeu mondial crucial

Le déficit mondial à venir en eau potable n’est plus une hypothèse mais un état de fait. D’ici à 2030, il sera de 40%. Et ce déficit ne se limitera pas aux zones historiquement pauvres en eau, il touchera l’ensemble de la planète.
Les causes sont multiples : concentration des populations, réchauffement climatique, augmentation des besoins en eau de l’agriculture et de l’industrie. Dans ce contexte, la dégradation des infrastructures de distribution et les pertes d’eau qu’elle génère deviennent un enjeu critique pour les états.


L’obsolescence des réseaux

Entretenir et renouveler un réseau de distribution d’eau potable est couteux et complexe. Néanmoins, ne pas le faire (ou ne le faire que partiellement) est lourd de conséquences : à l’heure actuelle et à l’échelle mondiale, les réseaux de distribution perdent entre 20 et 40% de l’eau qu’ils transportent et ce rendement se dégrade à mesure que les canalisations ne sont pas renouvelées à une fréquence suffisante. 

Le manque d’outils et d’information

A la décharge des exploitants en charge de ces infrastructures, ces derniers manquent cruellement d’outils efficaces de gestion. Une des principales sources de la difficulté de gestion est le manque d’information fiable sur la localisation et l’état de ces équipements. Le manque de données engendre une augmentation des coûts de rénovation et maintenance, et une spirale négative de baisse de la performance de ces infrastructures, obligeant chaque année les exploitants à agir et investir de plus en plus en réaction à la détérioration du réseau plutôt qu’en rénovation proactive.